Città Metropolitana di Milano


The Metropolitan City of Milan (CMM) is a local public authority established by the Italian Law 56/2014 and operating from the 1st of January 2015. The Metropolitan City of Milan governs the vastest metropolitan urban area in Italy. It includes the city of Milan and 133 other municipalities, representing a functional area of more than 5 million people. CMM implements and coordinates activities of strategic planning, sustainable mobility and urban public transports, including greening issues, territorial development, digital agenda and European policies and programming. CMM implements experimental and innovative pilot projects through its Unit for European Policies and Programming to promote the participation of its territory and citizens in European programmes and projects. CMM supports the active participation of citizens in the democratic life and in decision-making by gathering citizens and decision-makers to design inclusive and participatory policies for local development

Àrea Metropolitana de Barcelona


The Metropolitan Area of Barcelona (AMB) is the institutional organization of the metropolitan area of Barcelona constituted by Law and approved by the Catalan Parliament on July 27th 2010. It represents a territory of 636 km² and 3.2 million inhabitants, with 36 municipalities including the city of Barcelona. It is the largest metropolitan conurbation in the Western Mediterranean and generates half of the Catalonian GDP. AMD has extended competencies in spatial planning and infrastructures, strategic planning, urban transportation and mobility, smart city and new technologies, housing, water and waste management, environment and coastal preservation. AMB collaborates in international projects and provides technical assistance to Mediterranean cities through the Medcities project. It is the most dynamic of the Euromediterranean areas and mobilises skills and knowledge to increase its international presence, strengthen its economy, attract people and innovative activities.

Gdansk-Gdynia-Sopot Metropolitan Area


The Gdansk-Gdynia-Sopot Metropolitan Area (formerly the Gdansk Metropolitan Area or GOM) was established on September 15th 2011 in order to strengthen cooperation and achieve the harmonious development in the entire metropolitan area around Gdansk. This is done by ensuring the best use of the potential of the member cities and municipalities, while at the same time respecting their differences and particular characters. The Gdansk-Gdynia-Sopot Metropolitan Area is the fastest growing area of northern Poland. It is also a significant centre of integration processes in the Baltic Sea region as well as being an important link in the transport chain, linking the north and west of Europe with the central and southern part of the continent.

Grad Zagreb


Zagreb is the administrative, economic, cultural, and scientific centre of Croatia, and its largest city. The City of Zagreb is a separate territorial, administrative and self-governing unit with the county status. It is the member of many intercity organizations such as AER, Eurocities, Impacts, Convent of Mayors. The City of Zagreb is divided into 18 offices that carry out local, national or regional decisions, plans and strategies related to health protection, education, culture, civil protection, transport, spatial and urban planning and all activities of local importance. Because of such a branched structure, the City has excellent synergy with its citizens through bottom-up management mechanisms, which makes it a frequent and sought-after partner in local projects. Due to recent regulations, city authorities are working to establish a Functional urban area and preparing the 1st Sustainable Urban Energy Strategy that will create links with all local units in Zagreb and strengthen existing ones.

Città Metropolitana di Bari


The Metropolitan City of Bari is a large territorial entity of 41 Municipalities, with regulatory, administrative and financial autonomy in accordance with the principles laid down by the Constitution, by law and by its Statutes. It represents the local community and takes care of its interests, by promoting the social, cultural and economic development of the territory, according to the principles of sustainability, environmental protection and solidarity. It pursues the development of fair conditions, social welfare and cohesion in the use of public services in the metropolitan area by applying the principles laid down in the Constitution and by the general guidelines of the EC. The guiding principle is equality of rights for everyone with particular reference to the most vulnerable groups (women, foreign women, children, immigrants) applying the principle of equal opportunities for all.

Riga City Council


Riga is the largest city in the Baltic States. About one-third of all population of Latvia lives in Riga city, but more than a half of the population of Latvia, or 0.94 million people, live in an agglomeration of Riga. The Riga City Council is a local public authority. The Municipal Administration consists of the Central Municipality Administration, leading institutions under the jurisdiction of the municipal spheres of authority and municipality institutions and agencies, as well as administration bodies with special status under the jurisdiction of the Council departments. The Central administration structural units ensure to support functions of municipality expertise and operate in accordance with the regulations issued by the Riga City Executive. Council departments under the competence of the City Council operate in accordance with regulations issued by the City Council and are under the jurisdiction of the Chairmen of the City Council.

ALDA – The European Association for Local Democracy


ALDA is a non-governmental organization dedicated to the promotion of good local governance, namely through the empowerment of civil society and the promotion of active citizenship. It works in Europe (28 EU members states), in the Balkans and in the last years, in South Caucasus and North Africa. In the framework of promoting good governance and citizens participation at local level, ALDA focuses on various themes, such as European integration, civic initiatives, youth involvement, human rights, immigration, equal opportunities, sustainable economic development and volunteering. ALDA is a membership-based organization gathering more than 190 members (including Local Authorities, CSOs, youth associations, Universities) coming from more than 30 countries. ALDA is funded through membership fees and project funding from the European Commission (Europe for Citizens and ERASMUS + among the others), the Council of Europe and other public and private donors.

Área Metropolitana do Porto


Área Metropolitana do Porto (AMP) is an inter-municipal body that administrates the metropolitan area (which is also a NUTS III Region) that covers 2041 km², comprises 17 municipalities and represent 1.7 million inhabitants. AMP has a wide remit for economic development, social cohesion, mobility, education, territory and urban planning and the environment. It encourages the cooperation between municipalities and institutions that are catalysers of widened institutional networks. As for the EU structural and investment funds (ESIFs) AMP is an intermediate body of the Northern Operational Programme, responsible for the management of 140 M€ in the period 2014-2020. AMP has fostered metropolitan networks of public and private actors such as The Metropolitan Economic and Social Development network and the Thematic Networks (education, mobility, environment, employment, Competitiveness, innovation, etc.) where the 17 city councillors in charge meet regularly to exchange their experiences.